Home Page


Commercial Vineyards





The Welsh Vineyards Association competitions are held annually for member vineyards. AS from 2021, there will be 3 separate competitions.

1. The WELSH CHAMPIONSHIP for all Welsh vineyards producing wines from grapes with at least 85% content grown in Wales.
2. The Welsh OPEN Championship open to any vineyard, in Wales or in England from any grape variety grown anywhere.

3. The Best label competition open to any vineyard Categories of wine in competitions 1 and 2 are:

  • White
  • Red
  • Rosé
  • Sparkling rosé
  • Sparkling White A sponsored trophy is presented for each category, which is retained by the winning vineyard.

    The overall winner of the Welsh Championship is presented with the Thomas Davies Memorial Cup which they retain until the next competition.

    Entry forms for 2021
    Payment form Previous Trophy winners for the Welsh Championship were:

    2016 Kerry Vale Vineyards
    2017 Llanerch- Vale of Glamorgam
    2018 Llaethliw- Ceredigeon
    2019 Montgomery
    2020 Competition not held because of Covid19

  • Go back to top of file